Greetings from the Government Relations Committee!

The Government Relations Committee informs members of issues of concern both at the state and national level with regards to education and college access initiatives.  NACAC provides resources to help members look up legislators and pending legislation, as well as provides templates for contacting national leaders on topics identified as priority issues.  The Government Relations Committee of SACAC is developing new state legislative training for all of the member states.  For more information on joining this committee or on helping plan a legislative day in your state, contact:

Jessica Jaret Sant, Director of College Counseling
The Lovett School
4075 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA  30327
(404) 262-3032 x 1318
jessica.sant@lovett.org

 

Joe Freeman, Dean of 11th and 12th Grade
Randolph School
4915 Garth Rd. SE
Huntsville, AL  35802
(256) 799-6185
jfreeman@randolphschool.net

 

Please click HERE for  SACAC Government Relations "Getting Started" Guide.

 

Legislative Days for 2016:

Georgia:  February 25th, 2016, 9:00-3:30, at Georgia State University and Capitol building.  Contacts:  Pam Ambler (pambler@mountvernonschool.org) and Ashley Young (ayoung60@gsu.edu).

 

 

State Chairs for Government Relations

Alabama:  Joe Freeman (jfreeman@randolphschool.net) and Elizabeth Mosley (emosley@trinitywildcats.com)

Arkansas:  Tricia Davis (tdavis@episcopalcollegiate.org) and Brett Carr (carrb@hendrix.edu)

Florida:  Cristina Cruz LeFebvre (ccruz@fc.edu) and Luciana Mandal (luciana.mandal@ahschool.com)

Georgia:  David Dixon (ddixon@oglethorpe.edu) and Pam Ambler (pambler@mountvernonschool.org)

Louisiana:  Christy Sevier (csevier2@slu.edu), Emmett Brown (cbrow63@lsu.edu)

Mississippi:  Kamper Floyd (kfloyd@get2college.org) and Scott Johnson (johnsons@gosaints.org

North Carolina:  Nancy Benninger (nmpeterson@gmail.com) and Michael Little (little@campbell.edu)

South Carolina:  KathrynTaylor (ktaylor@shannonforest.com) and Bartley Sides (bartley.sides@furman.edu)

Tennessee:  Valerie Jones (vjones@cbhs.org) and Betsey Bachert (bachertb@franklinroadacademy.com)

 

2014-15 Legislative Day Events

 

Lousiana's 1st Annual Legislative Day, April 2015

alt

2015 Tennessee Legislative Day, Nashville, TN

 alt

NACAC's Day on the Hill in Washington, DC

Kamper Floyd, Nancy Benninger, David Dixon, Rick Clark
Jessica Sant, Randi Marcus, Debra Landesberg, & Kathryn Taylor

 

alt

Alabama Legislative Day 2014

 

alt

Georgia Legislative Day 2014

 

alt 

South Carolina Legislative Day 2014

 

 

For a Reimbursement Form for Government Relations/Legislative Days, please click here.

 

NACAC Links:

NACAC Legislative Action Center

http://www.nacacnet.org/LegislativeAction/Pages/default.aspx

NACAC State Legislative Portal

http://www.trendtrack.com/texis/app/viewrpt?event=47baf538192&run=y

 

State Links:

 

Alabama

Governor’s Office

http://www.governor.alabama.gov/

House of Representatives

http://www.legislature.state.al.us/house/house.html

Senate

http://www.legislature.state.al.us/senate/senate.html

Department of Education

http://www.alsde.edu/html/home.asp

Commission on Higher Education

http://www.ache.state.al.us/

 

Arkansas

Governor’s Office

http://governor.arkansas.gov/

House of Representatives

http://www.arkansashouse.org/

Senate

http://www.state.ar.us/senate/

Department of Education

http://arkansased.org/

Department of Higher Education

http://www.adhe.edu/Pages/home.aspx

 

 

Florida

Governor’s Office

http://www.flgov.com/

House of Representatives

http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/

Senate

http://www.flsenate.gov

Department of Education

http://www.fldoe.org/

Higher Education – Board of Governors

http://www.flbog.org/

 

 

Georgia

Governor’s Office

http://gov.georgia.gov

General Assembly – House of Representatives and Senate

http://www.legis.state.ga.us/

Department of Education

http://www.doe.k12.ga.us/

Board of Regents – University System of Georgia

http://www.usg.edu/

 

Louisana

Governor’s Office

http://www.gov.state.la.us/

Louisiana Legislature – House of Representatives and Senate

http://www.legis.state.la.us/

Department of Education

http://www.louisianaschools.net/

Board of Regents

http://regents.la.gov/

 

Mississippi

Governor’s Office

http://www.governorbarbour.com/

Legislature – House of Representatives and Senate

http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/

Department of Education

http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/

Institutions of Higher Education

http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/

 

North Carolina

Governor’s Office

http://www.governor.state.nc.us/

General Assembly – House of Representatives and Senate

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/

Department of Public Instruction / Board of Education

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/

 

South Carolina

Governor’s Office

http://www.scgovernor.com/

Legislature – House of Representatives and Senate

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/

Department of Education

http://ed.sc.gov/

Commission on Higher Education

http://www.che.sc.gov/

 

Tennessee

Governor’s Office

http://www.tennesseeanytime.org/governor/Welcome.do;jsessionid=A6BC4F5C2C35EAD1582FA0C68DA0FC73

Legislature – House of Representatives and Senate

http://www.legislature.state.tn.us/

Department of Education

http://www.state.tn.us/education/

Higher Education Commission

http://www.state.tn.us/thec/

 

Caribbean Government Websites

Puerto Rico

http://welcome.topuertorico.org/government.shtml

 

Commonwealth of the Bahamas

http://www.bahamas.gov.bs/bahamasweb/home.nsf

 

United States Virgin Islands

http://ltg.gov.vi/

 

British Virgin Islands

http://www.bvi.gov.vg/

 

Jamaica

http://www.jis.gov.jm/

 

Commonwealth of Dominica

http://www.dominica.gov.dm/cms/

 

St. Kitts and Nevis

http://www.gov.kn/lp.asp?CtNode=62&CtUnit=163&BaseDSD=7&mp=1

 
powered by MemberClicks