• Stretching across nine states and the Caribbean and boasting a membership of some 1,500 professionals, SACAC is one of the most active of the 23 National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) affiliates. The State and Area Initiatives are a means of building an effective grassroots structure for SACAC.

Our Primary Goals

  1. To help members better connect with one another locally as well as with the Association.
  2. To offer networking and other professional development opportunities to all admissions, college, and school counseling professionals regardless of SACAC membership.

State Meetings

Each state has a chair who facilitates a state meeting at the SACAC Annual Conference and organizes at least one meeting between annual conferences. The meetings serve as an opportunity to address the needs and desires of admissions, college, and school counseling professionals in the state as well as to share information about SACAC events going on within the state.

Drive-in Workshops

SACAC’s Drive-in Workshops are one-day gatherings designed to provide effective professional development experiences for high school counselors and advisors in a local environment. At least one workshop is held in each SACAC state each year. The workshops consist of several seminars, moderated by seasoned professionals who have had years of on-the-job training in college counseling and cost $15 to attend.

Continuing Education clock hours are offered for applicable programming at SACAC’s Drive-in Workshops.  SACAC is an Approved Continuing Education Provider (ACEP #6805) through the National Board of Certified Counselors.


If you’d like to get involved in your state or area, please click VOLUNTEER.

For more information on State and Area Initiatives, check out the handbook here:  State Area Initiatives Policy and Procedures Manual 2021-2022.


State and Area Initiatives Leadership

Committee Members


Alabama: Katie Morgan, Auburn University
Arkansas: Darren Morgan, Arkansas Commitment
Florida: Julie Carter, Episcopal School of Jacksonville and Arlene Outerbridge, The Masters Academy
Georgia: Miya Walker, Emory University and Kimberly Norfork, North Cobb Christian School
Louisiana: Kerri Caruso, Mount Carmel Academy and Allie Pierson, Magnolia Academic Planning
Mississippi: Laurie Benvenutti, The University of Southern Mississippi
North Carolina: Jazmin Garcia Smith, Durham Academy and Jared Rosenburg, UNC
South Carolina: Carolyn Stoddard, Hammond School
Tennessee: Paige Rooney, University of Memphis